Login Below


October 2017 – April 2018

7 October (please note change of date from 14 October)

2.30 pm Garrick, Johnson and Owning Shakespeare

Professor Tiffany Stern (Royal Holloway, University of London)

Chair: Christopher Broadhurst

18 November

1.00 pm Committee Meeting

2.30 pm Aleyn Lyell Reade: Young Sam’s Gleaner-in-Chief

Dr Ross Davies

Chair: Celine Luppo McDaid

9 December

12 noon. The Annual Commemoration at Westminster Abbey, by courtesy of the Dean and Chapter. A wreath will be laid on Johnson’s grave by Professor Philip Smallwood.

12.45 for 1.00 pm at St Ermin’s Hotel: the Society’s annual luncheon (see separate booking form).

3.00 pm The Richard Thrale Memorial Lecture: Johnson’s Compassion

Professor Philip Smallwood (Birmingham City University)

Chair: Dr Ilse Vickers

13 January

2.30 pm Benjamin Franklin in London: From British Royalist to American Patriot/Revolutionary

George Goodwin

Chair: Michael Bundock

10 February

12.30 pm: Committee Meeting

2.30 pm Artist and Artisan in The European Magazine (1782-1826)

Miriam Al-Jamil


10 March

1.30 pm Annual General Meeting

2.30 pm: “Flower of Cities All”

Colin Pinney

Chair: Christine Rees

14 April

2.30 pm Johnson and the Grandeur of Generality

Dr Ilse Vickers

Chair: Christopher Ogden

Venue. All meetings (except in December) will be held at Wesley’s Chapel, 49 City Road, London, EC1, and commence at 2.30 pm. Nearest underground stations are Moorgate and Old Street (Exit 4). There is car parking in side streets.

© The Johnson Society of London                                                                                  Web site design by Cosmic Egg Studios http://www.cosmicegg.com/
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software