Login Below


October 2016 – April 2017

15 October

1.00 pm Committee Meeting

2.30 pm Dr Johnson and Wales

Ross Davies

Chair: Celine Luppo McDaid

19 November

Psychology and Religion: Dr Johnson’s Troubled Faith Revisited

Dr Ilse Vickers (Chair, Johnson Society of London)

Chair: Dr Catherine Dille

10 December

12 noon. The Annual Commemoration at Westminster Abbey, by courtesy of the Dean and Chapter. A wreath will be laid on Johnson’s grave by Revd Canon Peter Holliday.

12.45 for 1.00 pm at St Ermin’s Hotel: the Society’s annual luncheon (see separate booking form).

3.00 pm The Richard Thrale Memorial Lecture:

Johnson on Demand

Professor Robert DeMaria, Jr (Vassar College)

Chair: Dr Ilse Vickers

14 January

Johnson’s Notes to Shakespeare and the Common Reader

Professor Marcus Walsh (Liverpool University)

Chair: Christopher Ogden

11 February

12.30 pm: Committee Meeting

2.30 pm: Shakespeare and Literary Criticism: Samuel Johnson and F.R. Leavis

Dr James Smith (Royal Holloway, University of London)

Chair: Miriam Al Jamil

11 March

1.30 pm Annual General Meeting

2.30 pm: The Debtor's Prison in Johnson's London

Professor Jerry White (Birkbeck, University of London)

Chair: Christopher Broadhurst

8 April

Oliver Goldsmith and His Biographers

Professor Norma Clarke (Kingston University)

Chair: Michael Bundock

VENUE. All meetings (except in December) will be held at Wesley’s

Chapel, 49 City Road, London, EC1, and commence at 2.30 pm. 

Nearest underground stations are Moorgate and Old Street (Exit 4). There is car

parking in side streets.

© The Johnson Society of London                                                                                  Web site design by Cosmic Egg Studios http://www.cosmicegg.com/
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software