Login Below


October 2018 – April 2019

13 October 

2.30 pm The American Champion of Samuel Johnson’s Dictionary

Professor Peter Martin  (replacing Mr Michael Dobson)

Chair: Christine Rees

17 November

1.00 pm Committee Meeting

2.30 pm Riding the three tygers of sex, of society and of show business”: An Appraisal of the Prowess of the Margravine of Anspach (1750-1828)

Mr Iain Mackintosh

Chair: Celine Luppo McDaid

8 December

12 noon. The Annual Commemoration at Westminster Abbey, by courtesy of the Dean and Chapter. A wreath will be laid on Johnson’s grave by Professor Philip Smallwood.

12.45 for 1.00 pm at St Ermin’s Hotel: the Society’s annual luncheon (see separate booking form).

3.00 pm The Richard Thrale Memorial Lecture: Johnson’s Compassion

Professor Philip Smallwood (Birmingham City University)

Chair: Dr Ilse Vickers

12 January

2.30 pm Johnson’s Dictionary and English Literature

Professor John Mullan (University College London)

Chair: Dr Catherine Dille

16 February

12.30 pm: Committee Meeting

2.30 pm: ‘My old Chrony’: The Eighteenth-Century Gentleman’s Magazine and its Readers

Dr Gillian Williamson (Birkbeck, University of London)

Chair: Michael Bundock

9 March

1.30 pm Annual General Meeting

2.30 pm: ‘Your Deity’: The Followers of Thomas Gray and the Measurement of Johnson’s Achievement

Dr Nigel Aston (Leicester University)

Chair: Miriam Al Jamil

13 April

2.30 pm: Beyond Slavery and Abolition: Three Black Writers in Georgian London

Dr Ryan Hanley (University College London)

Chair: Christopher Broadhurst

Venue. All meetings (except in December) will be held at Wesley’s Chapel, 49 City Road, London, EC1, and commence at 2.30 pm. Nearest underground stations are Moorgate and Old Street (Exit 4). There is car parking in side streets.

© The Johnson Society of London                                                                                  Web site design by Cosmic Egg Studios http://www.cosmicegg.com/
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software